2501
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-2501,multiple-domain-paalmtl-org,stockholm-core-2.3,select-theme-ver-8.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,menu-animation-underline,,qode_menu_,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive
PAAL Dia De Muertos 2021

The Cycle of Life and Death

If we take a look around, we can notice a great many actions taking place that are rooted in nostalgia and aimed, it could be said, at reversing or even stopping time itself. Among those, picture taking is foremost, an act that has become so common place that nobody is surprised anymore to see mobile phones raised in the air with the intention of seizing every details of a daily life that is so ephemeral.

We are, when we take pictures, moved by nostalgia. This was the thesis of Susan Sontag in her essay On Photography: we try to seize what we love in life, be it by carving it in stone, by tracing it on paper or on some surface, using a piece of chalk. Doing so, we want to save a piece of it from oblivion, like the young wife in the corinthian myth of Kora who wanted to keep something of her spouse to help her remember him before he left for war, so she drew his silhouette right on the wall, where his shadow was projected by the light of a lamp.

Adriana García Cruz

Linda Rutenberg

Pilar Macías

Yaen Tijerina
Minerva (Xahuela)

Who would have thought, when it was invented 175 years ago, that photography would accompany us, profusely and with such a vertiginous speed, in our ambition to conquer death and forgiveness. Still, on the time of its advent it started providing us – without having to wait for the opportunity to pose in front a great painter, an opportunity that might never come – with a photosensitive plate bearing a trace of our gaze, the radiance of our youth, or even one last picture of our body right after our demise, like those family photos that were shot before the burial of a close one. And all those images can be found, decades later, by our descendants, who might be perplexed or amazed by them.

Slices of time, instamatic memento mori… our compositions may not include a skull or a clepsydra, like some Dutch still-lifes did in a way that symbolised the vanity and transience of life, but they bear the resemblance of an instant that will never come back, that slipped through our fingers like water, and we keep this trace it left on a photo, maybe by vanity, or maybe because we know that everything ends eventually… How far are we, but yet how close still, from the corinthian myth of Kora, tracing the image of what we love, using the light projected by the candle that is our ambition of conquering oblivion.

Andrea Calderón

Damian Siqueiros

Jannet Zuniga
Je n’oublie pas

And what consolation does western post-modernity bring us, after having shipwrecked us with what is left of modernity, we, still wandering on the frontier between two eras, very similar still to the fragile beings who walked this Earth more than 65 000 years ago? We lack the compass of the natural cycles that were their, or the weaving together of life and death like steps of a great transformation, rhythmed by the seasons of the year. What we have is the artificial echoes and reflections of festivities dictated by the glass displays of consumerism.

It’s during the month of October that, in the Western hemisphere, the arrival of Autumn prompted our ancestors to reflect upon the cycles of nature, upon this season in particular, felt very tangibly to be the end of something: we part with what we had sowed, we cut down the last ears of wheat and corn and we can, just before the coming of Winter’s darkness, catch a glimpse of the great Cosmic Night, this great mystery that engulfs everything in the end. Leaves fall from the trees, irremediably, to be converted into the humus from which the next Spring will come. Life, death, life… this cycle is never far from us and it is manifested through those amongst the modern traditions that still retain the essence of celebrations of old, like the mexican Day of the Dead, where cemeteries light up for a night, and get filled with the smell of feasts and the fragrance of flowers, all meant to honour the bones of the ones who have left us, and celebrate the flowers that have sprouted and taken root in their remains. There is also a very old celebration, which came from Ireland and Scotland, so full of depth that it persisted to this day in what is known as Halloween, be it dressed up with horror movies aesthetics dreamed up in Hollywood. When the days started to shorten, when the harvest ended and the flocks came back to the stable, the Samain of the ancient Celts was celebrated and a new beginning was acknowledged. During that night, in-between two important periods, the fireplace was extinguished in every household and the druids would light a new fire to share it with the inhabitants, this fire which would comfort them through this dark transition just before Winter, through that night during which the limits separating us from the other world would be thinner, allowing passage towards this world to their ancestors.

Jannet Zuniga
Mictlán

Lee Lapaix

Michael Abril

The table would be set generously to welcome them and reunite with them… We still can hear the echoes of such rituals nowadays, although somewhat muted, for exemple through the faintly lit smile of a carved pumpkin. But still, Autumn’s wind blows insistently, and maybe are we like trees shaken by an unforgiving wind of change, sensing that the end of a cycle is coming, but sustained by deep roots, embraced as they are by the belly of the Earth. And colder days are coming, and we immerse ourselves a little more everyday into Winter’s great silence.

We highlight this part of the year’s cycle, celebrate transformation and honour the path that was laid by our ancestors and the roots that sustain us to this day. For this 2021 edition of Día de Muertos NDG, PAAL invited ten photographers to share their reflexions upon this cycle of life and death through the medium of photography: the relation between our transformations and our roots, evocations of our ancestors, metaphysical interrogations of the Great Mystery that awaits us at the end of our path, explorations of rituals and symbolism… And so, navigating between shop windows, we will discover ten instants in the way they were caught through this form of reality hunting that is photography. These works invite us to fill ourselves with the product of their reflexion, as if through the ephemeral window of a metaphysical observation, or through a portal which, for the duration of these festivities, can connect us to the world beyond this one in a way that can alleviate our worries regarding death and the Great Mystery, and even maybe provide us with a small glimpse of what they are.

Montréal, QC.
Automne MMXXI

Help us keep the festival free

Your donation helps us pay for Montreal artists who share with us their talents and you receive an official donation receipt.

Donate

Help us break down cultural barriers!

We need your support in order to accomplish our mission of educating and sensibilizing the members of different Montreal communities, and to raise awareness about cultural diversity with hopes to put an end to racism.

Donate

2500
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-2500,multiple-domain-paalmtl-org,stockholm-core-2.3,select-theme-ver-8.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,menu-animation-underline,,qode_menu_,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive
PAAL Dia De Muertos 2021

Le cycle de la vie et de la mort

Si nous regardons autour de nous, nous pouvons apercevoir une foule d’actions qui, empreintes de nostalgie, cherchent au fond à renverser le temps, voire à l’arrêter. Parmi celles-ci la prise d’images en tous genres, qui est devenu un acte si courant que plus personne n’est surpris de voir quelqu’un lever un téléphone pour capturer les détails d’un quotidien éphémère.

Nous prenons des photos par nostalgie, c’est ce qu’affirmait Susan Sontag il y a plus de 40 ans dans son essai Sur la photographie : nous tentons de saisir ce que nous aimons de la vie, que ce soit en le gravant dans la pierre, en le traçant sur le papier ou à la craie, pour en conserver un fragment qui résiste à l’oubli, comme dans le mythe corinthien de Kora, jeune épouse qui, pour garder un souvenir de son époux partant à la guerre, pour ne pas perdre son image, dessina sa silhouette telle qu’elle était projetée sur le mur par la lumière d’une lampe.

Adriana García Cruz

Linda Rutenberg

Pilar Macías

Yaen Tijerina
Minerva (Xahuela)

Qui eut cru, au moment de son invention il y a 175 ans, que la photographie nous accompagnerait, avec cette profusion et à cette vitesse vertigineuse, dans notre ambition de vaincre la mort et l’oubli. Reste que, dès son avènement elle nous donna accès, sans attendre d’avoir la chance de poser devant un grand peintre, à une plaque photosensible portant la trace de notre regard, l’éclat de notre jeunesse, voire une dernière image de notre corps au moment de notre départ, comme sur ces anciens portraits de famille précédant l’enterrement d’un proche. Toutes images qui peuvent rencontrer des décennies plus tard le regard, perplexe ou émerveillé, de nos descendants.

Tranches de temps, memento mori instamatic… nos photographies n’incluent peut-être pas un crâne ou une clepsydre, comme l’ont déjà fait certaines natures mortes hollandaises pour symboliser la vanité et la fugacité de la vie, mais elles nous parlent d’un instant qui ne reviendra pas, qui nous a échappé comme l’eau d’entre les doigts, mais duquel nous conservons un aperçu, peut-être par vanité, ou peut-être parce que nous savons que tout a une fin… Comme nous sommes loin, et comme nous sommes proches à la fois du mythe corinthien de Kora, traçant ainsi les portraits de ce que nous aimons, avec la lumière que produit la chandelle qu’est notre ambition de vaincre l’oubli.

Andrea Calderón

Damian Siqueiros

Jannet Zuniga
Je n’oublie pas

Quelle consolation nous apporte la post-modernité occidentale, qui nous a naufragés avec ce qui reste de la modernité, nous qui continuons à errer aux confins de notre ère, pareils encore aux êtres fragiles qui ont marché sur cette Terre il y a plus de 65,000 ans, mais maintenant sans la boussole qu’apportaient les cycles naturels, sans le tissage de la vie et de la mort comme étapes d’une grande transformation au rythme des saisons de la nature, avec à la place l’écho et le reflet artificiels de festivités dictées par les vitrines du consumérisme ?

C’est durant le mois d’octobre que, dans l’hémisphère Nord, l’arrivée de l’automne invitait nos ancêtres à réfléchir aux cycles de la nature et à cette étape qui est ressentie de façon très tangible comme étant la fin de quelque chose : l’on dit au revoir à ce que l’on a semé, fauchant les derniers épis de blé et de maïs, et l’on peut apercevoir, avant l’arrivée de l’obscurité hivernale, le seuil de la grande Nuit Cosmique, ce grand mystère qui tout engloutit au final, alors que les feuilles des arbres tombent, irrémédiablement, et s’apprêtent à se convertir en cet humus duquel resurgira le printemps. Vie, mort, vie… ce cycle est toujours prêt de nous et se manifeste à travers ces traditions modernes qui portent encore les vestiges des anciennes fêtes de fin des récoltes, comme le Jour des Morts au Mexique, où les cimetières s’illuminent pour une nuit et se parfument de l’odeur des festins et de l’arôme des fleurs, tout cela pour honorer les ossements de ceux qui nous ont quittés et célébrer les racines qui se sont plantées dans leurs dépouilles, les fleurs qui en ont surgi. Ou encore cette fête très ancienne, venue d’Irlande et d’Écosse, et qui est si significative qu’elle a persisté jusqu’à nos jours sous la forme de l’Halloween, habillée d’une esthétique d’horreur par Hollywood : lors de l’arrivée de l’obscurité, de la fin des récoltes et du retour des troupeaux de moutons à l’étable, le Samain des anciens celtes était célébré, marquant un nouveau départ. Au cours de cette nuit qui séparait deux périodes, les feux des foyers étaient éteints, afin que les druides allument un feu nouveau et le partagent avec les habitants, un feu dont la chaleur pourrait les bercer au cours de cette transition obscure qui précède l’hiver, pendant laquelle les limites qui nous séparent de l’autre monde, celui des âmes et des mystères, devenaient plus ténues et permettaient le passage… Une table généreuse était alors mise, en vue de la réunion avec les ancêtres rendue ainsi possible.

Jannet Zuniga
Mictlán

Lee Lapaix

Michael Abril

Aujourd’hui, les échos de tels rituels s’entendent toujours, bien que de façon voilée, par exemple à travers le sourire légèrement éclairé d’une citrouille sculptée. Mais le vent d’automne souffle encore de façon insistante, et nous somme peut-être comme des arbres secoués par le vent cinglant d’une transformation inévitable, pressentant la fin d’un cycle, mais soutenus par des racines profondes qu’embrasse le ventre de la terre. Et le froid avance, et nous nous immergeons chaque jour un peu plus dans le silence de l’hiver.

Nous soulignons cette étape du cycle de l’année, célébrons la transformation et honorons le chemin tracé par nos ancêtres ainsi que les racines qui nous soutiennent. Pour cette édition 2021 du Día de Muertos NDG, PAAL a invité dix photographes à partager leurs réflexions sur ce cycle de vie et de mort à travers le médium photographique : points de rencontres entre transformation et racines, regards vers les ancêtres, questionnements métaphysiques sur le grand mystère qui se cache à la fin du cheminement humain, explorations des rituels et du symbolisme… C’est ainsi que, navigant d’une vitrine de commerce à l’autre, nous explorerons dix instants, tels qu’ils furent appréhendés dans cette chasse à la réalité qu’est la photographie. Ces œuvres nous invitent à nous pénétrer de leur réflexion, comme à travers les fenêtres éphémères d’une observation métaphysique, ou des portails qui le temps d’une festivité peuvent, en nous rapprochant de l’au-delà, soulager nos inquiétudes face à la mort et au grand mystère. Et peut-être nous en donner un aperçu.

Montréal, QC.
Automne MMXXI

Aidez-nous à maintenir le festival gratuit

Votre contribution aide à payer les artistes montréalais qui contribuent avec nous en partageant leurs talents et vous recevrez un reçu officiel de don.

Donnez

Aidez-nous à briser les barrières culturelles

Nous avons besoin de votre soutien afin d’accomplir notre mission d’éduquer et de sensibiliser les membres de différentes communautés montréalaises à la diversité culturelle dans l’optique de favoriser un rapprochement et mettre fin au racisme.

Donnez