fbpx
1769
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-1769,multiple-domain-paalmtl-org,stockholm-core-2.3,select-theme-ver-8.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,menu-animation-underline,,qode_menu_,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

Dia de muertos

The “Dia de muertos NDG” (Day of the Dead) event is a celebration that we organize in November annually in collaboration with community partners and Montrealers of Mexican origin residing in Montreal.

Les éditions du Festival Dia de muertos
What are we doing there?

In a festive atmosphere, the participants are invited on the first days of November to take part in the festivities: decoration of traditional altars, presentation of artisanal creations, Mexican musical entertainment and tasting of Pan de Muerto.

Altars locations vary from year to year, so stay tuned for this year’s locations.

7bf378_d2dc5f7d33764060ade2b406e0a87576~mv2-1

What is Dia de Muertos in Mexico?

The Day of the Dead, or “Dia de Muertos” in Spanish, is an event of great importance in Mexico. This festival takes place annually on November 1 and 2. While most Western cultures view death as a tragic event, Mexicans view death as a natural and necessary biological phenomenon. This festival, which takes place at the beginning of November as the end of the annual corn cycle takes place, is an analogy of the end of the life cycle. The Day of the Dead is an occasion for Mexicans to reunite with family and to celebrate the lives of their deceased loved ones.

Altars for the dead are installed in homes and cemeteries to commemorate deceased individuals. Photographs and personal items of the deceased are placed there as well as his favorite foods and drinks. To complete the decoration, individuals display the altars of lighted candles, cempasuchil flowers, or Indian roses, incense, sugar skulls and Pan de Muerto or “death’s bread”. The Day of the Dead is a festive event where members of the community come together to eat, dance and honor their dead.

Skills developed
Dialogue
Discovery of cultural wealth
Understanding
Open-mindedness
Social inclusion
Reconciliation

Help us break down cultural barriers!

We need your support in order to accomplish our mission of educating and sensibilizing the members of different Montreal communities, and to raise awareness about cultural diversity with hopes to put an end to racism.

Donate

1390
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-1390,multiple-domain-paalmtl-org,stockholm-core-2.3,select-theme-ver-8.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,menu-animation-underline,,qode_menu_,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

Dia de muertos

L’événement «Dia de muertos NDG» (Jour de morts) est une fête que nous organisons en novembre annuellement en collaboration avec les partenaires communautaires et les montréalais d’origine mexicaine résidant à Montréal.

Les éditions du Festival Dia de muertos
Qu’est ce qu’on y fait?

Dans une ambiance festive, les participants sont conviés les premiers jours de novembre à prendre part aux festivités: décoration d’autels traditionnels, présentation de créations artisanales, animation musicale mexicaine et dégustation de Pan de Muerto.

La localisation des autels varie d’année en année, alors restez à l’affût afin de découvrir les localisations de cette année.

7bf378_d2dc5f7d33764060ade2b406e0a87576~mv2-1

Qu’est-ce que Dia de Muertos au Mexique?

Le Jour des Morts, ou «Dia de Muertos» en espagnol, est un événement de grande importance au Mexique. Cette fête prend place annuellement le 1er et 2 novembre. Alors que la plupart des cultures occidentales considèrent la mort comme étant un événement tragique, les mexicains entrevoient cette dernière comme étant un phénomène biologique naturel et nécessaire. Cette fête, qui a lieu au début du mois de novembre alors que se déroule la fin du cycle annuel du maïs, constitue une analogie de la fin du cycle de la vie. Le Jour des Morts est une occasion pour les mexicains de se retrouver en famille et de célébrer la vie de leurs proches défunts.

Des autels pour les morts sont installés dans les maisons et les cimetières afin de commémorer les individus décédés. On y place des photos et des objets personnels du défunt de même que ses mets et boissons préférés. Pour finaliser la décoration, les individus arborent les autels de bougies allumées, de fleurs de cempasuchil, ou roses d’Inde, d’encens, de têtes de morts en sucre et de Pan de Muerto ou «pain de mort». Le Jour des Morts est un événement festif au cours duquel les membres de la communauté se réunissent afin de manger, danser et honorer leurs morts.

Compétences développées
competency icon
Dialogue
competency icon
Découverte d’une richesse culturelle
competency icon
Compréhension
competency icon
Ouverture d’esprit
competency icon
Inclusion sociale
competency icon
Rapprochement

Aidez-nous à briser les barrières culturelles

Nous avons besoin de votre soutien afin d’accomplir notre mission d’éduquer et de sensibiliser les membres de différentes communautés montréalaises à la diversité culturelle dans l’optique de favoriser un rapprochement et mettre fin au racisme.

Donnez