1783
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-1783,multiple-domain-paalmtl-org,stockholm-core-2.3,select-theme-ver-8.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,menu-animation-underline,,qode_menu_,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

Corn doll

Man and nature: a mutual aid story

According to the Chontal people, an indigenous people of Mexico, ants are said to have helped man find corn so that he may eat. Corn is of great importance across the Americas, as it has been the staple food for 10,000 years. For example, we use corn husks to make tamales and hold the stuffing, it is also used i the confection of objects such as dolls, flowers or fruits.

What are we doing there?
  • Presenting different types of corn
  • Presenting the story of the Chontal people
  • Making small dolls using corn husks
Skills Developed
Competence Nom
Competence Nom
Competence Nom

Help us break down cultural barriers!

We need your support in order to accomplish our mission of educating and sensibilizing the members of different Montreal communities, and to raise awareness about cultural diversity with hopes to put an end to racism.

Donate

922
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-922,multiple-domain-paalmtl-org,stockholm-core-2.3,select-theme-ver-8.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,menu-animation-underline,,qode_menu_,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

Poupée de maïs

L’homme et la nature: une histoire d’entraide

Selon le peuple Chontal, un peuple autochtone du Mexique, une fourmis aurait aidé l’homme à trouver du maïs afin que celui-ci puisse se nourrir. Le maïs détient une grande importance en Amérique, puisqu’il constitue la base de l’alimentation, et ce depuis 10,000 ans. Par exemple, on se sert des feuilles de maïs pour faire des tamales et en contenir la farce, ou encore pour la fabrication d’objets tels que des poupées, des fleurs ou des fruits.

Qu’est ce qu’on y fait?

  • Présentation de différents types de maïs
  • Présentation du récit du peuple Chontal
  • Fabrication de petites poupées avec des feuilles de maïs
Compétences développées
competency icon
Competence Nom
competency icon
Competence Nom
competency icon
Competence Nom

Aidez-nous à briser les barrières culturelles

Nous avons besoin de votre soutien afin d’accomplir notre mission d’éduquer et de sensibiliser les membres de différentes communautés montréalaises à la diversité culturelle dans l’optique de favoriser un rapprochement et mettre fin au racisme.

Donnez