1763
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-1763,multiple-domain-paalmtl-org,stockholm-core-2.3,select-theme-ver-8.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,menu-animation-underline,,qode_menu_,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive
The Kanienkehaka Teachings

In our partnership with The Mohawk Traditional Council, we offer a series of workshops focusing on Kanienkehaka (Mohawk) culture. These workshops aim to enrich the cultural knowledge of children with regard to the traditions of indigenous peoples, thus promoting the process of reconciliation.

Wampum

Honouring His Words

Before the colonizers arrived, the Kanien’kehaka did not need writing or papers in order to share disseminate their words. A commitment was made to memorize and share verbally and this tradition was quite simply honoured. In a world like today, the concept of honouring and respecting one’s word can be difficult. However, integrity, an essential value for life, is developed by respecting and honouring our words.

In order to represent the importance given to words and the commitment to keep them, the Kanien’keha Ka use the wampum belt during ceremonies to remember our words or promises made.

 

What are we doing there?
  • Sharing the story and explaning the meaning of Wampum
  • Making a Wampum
Skills Developed
Analysis
Critical thinking
Knowledge
Dialogue
Respect
Visit the other two activities in this workshop series:

Help us break down cultural barriers!

We need your support in order to accomplish our mission of educating and sensibilizing the members of different Montreal communities, and to raise awareness about cultural diversity with hopes to put an end to racism.

Donate

1447
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-1447,multiple-domain-paalmtl-org,stockholm-core-2.3,select-theme-ver-8.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,menu-animation-underline,,qode_menu_,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive
Les enseignements Kanienkehaka

À travers notre partenariat avec Le Conseil Traditionnel Mohawk, nous offrons une série d’ateliers portant sur la culture Kanienkehaka (Mohawk). Ces ateliers ont pour objectif d’enrichir les connaissances culturelles de l’enfant par rapport aux traditions des peuples autochtones, favorisant ainsi le processus de réconciliation.

Wampum

Honorer ses paroles

Avant l’arrivée des colonisateurs, les Kanien’kehaka n’avaient pas besoin d’écrit ou de papiers afin d’honorer leurs paroles. Un engagement se faisait verbalement et était tout simplement honoré. Dans un monde comme aujourd’hui, l’importance d’honorer et de respecter une parole commence à disparaître par faute de malhonnêteté. Cependant, l’intégrité, une valeur essentielle pour la vie, se développe en respectant et en honorant nos paroles.

Afin de représenter l’importance accordée aux paroles et l’engagement à les respecter, les Kanien’keha Ka utilisent la ceinture wampums lors des cérémonies afin de se souvenir du mot ou de la promesse donnée.

Qu’est ce qu’on y fait?
  • L’histoire et l’explication derrière la signification du Wampum
  • Fabrication d’un wampum
Compétences développées
competency icon
Analyse
competency icon
Pensée critique
competency icon
Enrichissement de connaissance
competency icon
Dialogue
competency icon
Respect
Visitez les deux autres activités de cette série d’atelier:

Aidez-nous à briser les barrières culturelles

Nous avons besoin de votre soutien afin d’accomplir notre mission d’éduquer et de sensibiliser les membres de différentes communautés montréalaises à la diversité culturelle dans l’optique de favoriser un rapprochement et mettre fin au racisme.

Donnez